The Minister of National Revenue is responsible to Parliament for the Tax Appeal Board and also reports to Parliament for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and the Board of Broadcast Governors.

Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources.—The Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources was established in December 1953, superseding the Department of Resources and Development. In addition to Administration Services, which performs auxiliary functions, the Department is divided into six branches: the National Parks Branch administers the National Parks and National Historic Parks of Canada, National Historic Sites, and wildlife matters coming within the jurisidiction of the Federal Government; the Water Resources Branch is responsible for the investigation of water power resources, for the administration of federal assistance to the provinces under the Canada Water Conservation Assistance Act and for federal interest in certain joint federal-provincial construction projects; the Northern Administration Branch is responsible for the administration of various federal Acts, territorial ordinances and regulations pertaining to the government of the Northwest Territories, for the administration of natural resources in those Territories, and for Eskimo affairs, as well as for certain lands and mineral rights in the provinces vested in the Crown in the right of Canada; the Natural History Branch and Human History Branch of the National Museum of Canada are responsible for research, publication of scientific studies, and public exhibitions in their respective fields of natural history and human history; and the Canada Government Travel Bureau promotes the tourist industry by encouraging travel to Canada.

The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources is also responsible to Parliament for the Northern Canada Power Commission, and the National Battlefields Commission. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, an honorary body of recognized historians representing the various provinces, and the Advisory Committees on Wildlife Protection, Northern Development, and Water Use Policy act in an advisory capacity to the Minister in their respective fields. The Deputy Minister is Commissioner of the Northwest Territories and Chairman of the Northern Canada Power Commission and of each of the Advisory Committees.

Post Office Department.—Administration and operation of the Canada Post Office, by virtue of the Post Office Act (RSC 1952, c. 212) and under the Postmaster General, includes all phases of postal activity, personnel, mail handling, transportation of mails by land, water, rail and air and the direction and control of financial services including the operation of money order and savings bank business.

Public Archives.—The Public Archives was founded in 1872 and is administered under the Public Archives Act (RSC 1952, c. 222) by the Dominion Archivist who has the rank of a Deputy Minister and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. Its purpose is to assemble and make available to the public a comprehensive collection of historical source material relating to the history of Canada. Major emphasis is placed on official records of the Government and the personal papers of political leaders and other prominent figures. These are supplemented by copies of many records in the British and French archives that relate to Canada, a fine map collection, a historical library, and many prints, paintings and photographs. In 1956 the Archives opened a large Records Centre, designed to provide economical accommodation for departmental records that are used relatively seldom. The building, equipped with over 50 miles of shelving, also serves as a sorting centre in which papers of long-term interest are picked out of obsolete files, and useless material is segregated for destruction.

Under the terms of the Laurier House Act (RSC 1952, c. 163) the Public Archives is responsible for the administration of Laurier House as a museum and study centre. The Dominion Archivist also administers the Government's Central Microfilm Unit, which is housed in the Records Centre.

Department of Public Printing and Stationery.—This Department was established in 1886.

The Department is responsible for supplying all requirements of printing and stationery to Parliament and departments of the Canadian Government; the cataloguing, distribution and sale of government publications; the publication of the *Canada Gazette*, and all departmental reports, papers, etc., required to be published by authority of the Governor General in Council (RSC 1952, c. 226) and the publication of the Statutes of Canada (RSC 1952, c. 230).

The Department of Public Printing and Stationery is under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of State. The deputy-head is the Queen's Printer and Controller of Stationery.

Department of Public Works.—This Department was constituted in 1867 and operates under the legislative authority of the Public Works Act and other Acts of Parliament. It is responsible for the management and direction of the public works of Canada and, except as specifically provided in other Acts, attends to the construction and maintenance of public buildings, wharves, piers, roads and bridges and the undertaking of dredging and navigable waters protection work. The Department maintains district offices at key points across the country. The main